Olympic Village

Saint-Ouen, Saint-Denis | 2019-2025

SOLIDEO (the Paris 2024 Olympic Games Delivery Authority) has chosen Manifesto, partnered with curator Gaël Charbau, to be responsible for the artistic direction of the Olympic and Paralympic Village in Saint-Denis and Saint-Ouen.

Village Olympique Manifesto direction artistique
Concepteurs : Dominique Perrault, Architecte – mandataire ; Une Fabrique de la Ville ; INGEROP ; TER ; CITEC ; Urban-Eco ; Jean-Paul Lamoureux

SOLIDEO is responsible for financing, supervising and delivering the infrastructure and urban development operations for the Paris 2024 Olympic and Paralympic Games. Designing the Athletes’ Village is a project of exceptional scope. Heritage is at the heart of the project: the aim is to create a neighborhood in which the Games will be both a significant milestone and a one-off event. The Village will showcase French expertise and the country’s focus on social responsibility, inclusivity and sustainability. The artistic aspects of this Village will be vital.

Following a public consultation, SOLIDEO appointed Manifesto, partnered with curator Gaël Charbau (Artistic Director of Nuit Blanche 2018) and Bollinger + Grohmann (structural engineering consultancy), for its artistic direction. Our first task is to look to the future: how can art and artists contribute to the creation of a desirable city in 2050?

We will develop an artistic program for the new neighborhood, working with public institutions and private real estate operators. This new project further strengthens our commitment to transforming cities through art.

“Like a beacon, art sheds light on our world’s horizons.”

Gaël Charbau

Concepteurs : Dominique Perrault, Architecte – mandataire ; Une Fabrique de la Ville ; INGEROP ; TER ; CITEC ; Urban-Eco ; Jean-Paul Lamoureux

See also

Village olympique

Saint-Ouen, Saint-Denis | 2019-2025

La SOLIDEO confie à Manifesto, qui s’est associée à Gaël Charbau, la direction artistique de la ZAC Village olympique et paralympique à Saint-Denis et Saint-Ouen.

Village Olympique Manifesto direction artistique
Concepteurs : Dominique Perrault, Architecte – mandataire ; Une Fabrique de la Ville ; INGEROP ; TER ; CITEC ; Urban-Eco ; Jean-Paul Lamoureux

La SOLIDEO est chargée de livrer les ouvrages et opérations d’aménagement nécessaires aux Jeux de Paris 2024. La réalisation du Village des athlètes est un projet urbain et territorial d’une dimension exceptionnelle. La dimension de l’héritage est au cœur du projet : il s’agit de construire d’abord un quartier de ville, dans lequel les Jeux forment une étape à la fois marquante et ponctuelle. Le Village sera la vitrine de la France, de son savoir-faire et de ses ambitions durables, inclusives et responsables. La démarche artistique en sera un acteur clef.

A l’issue d’un appel d’offres, la SOLIDEO en a confié la direction artistique à Manifesto, qui s’est associée au commissaire Gaël Charbau (Directeur artistique de Nuit Blanche 2018) et à Bollinger + Grohmann (BET). Notre première mission est prospective : comment l’art et les artistes peuvent-ils contribuer à créer la ville désirable à l’horizon 2050 ?

Nous définirons un programme de commandes artistiques dans le futur quartier, en lien avec les acteurs publics et les opérateurs immobiliers en charge de construire les îlots privés. Cette nouvelle mission vient consolider notre engagement à transformer la ville par l’art.

« Comme un phare, l'art permet d'éclairer l'horizon du monde dans lequel on vit. »

Gaël Charbau

Concepteurs : Dominique Perrault, Architecte – mandataire ; Une Fabrique de la Ville ; INGEROP ; TER ; CITEC ; Urban-Eco ; Jean-Paul Lamoureux

À découvrir aussi